Long Reach Kitchen & Catering

387 Whiskeag Rd, Bath
(207) 442-8411

Recent Reviews

Sort by
chaz guthrie

Nice restraunt. Didn't realize it was at a good club. But nice laid back homey atmosphere. Food was delicious and good portions

Atmosphere: 5

Food: 5

Service: 5

Noël Twigg

Excellent food and cocktails, would highly recommend if you’re looking for a great meal. Our table tried the short ribs, the scallop risotto, the meatball sub and the manicotti. Everything was well made, perfectly seasoned and fresh. Will definitely be going back! I agree with an earlier review that this restaurant is a hidden jewel. Off the beaten path of downtown bath (but not by much) but worth the extra few minutes in the car.

Tia Chipman

Long Reach Kitchen catered my wedding of a little over 100 people and were absolutely amazing. They were very easy to deal with, the food was amazing, and they went over the top to ensure that we were happy customers. I highly recommend them for any wedding/catering needs!

J and K

Food and service was fantastic, 5 stars; had the braised short rib and the braised pork shank. Enjoyed eating on the porch with the setting sun, except for the occasional hum and gas fumes from the golf carts (we were on the side next to the parking lot), 4 stars.

Atmosphere: 4

Food: 5

Service: 5

Chris Geaghan

Probably the best meal you can get in the Bath / Brunswick area.

Atmosphere: 5

Food: 5

Service: 5

Jamie FindsTheDeals

Meh. Saturday was my first visit to LRK. Two friends and I had reservations for 6 PM prior to the "Twisted Christmas" show we had tickets for. One of the "specials" on the drink menu was a Harvest Moon which included an apple cider reduction, nutmeg, lemon and rum. My friend asked if she could just get a glass without the rum. She was told no. When it came time to order, one guest tried ordering the Pate and asked if she could substitute bread (seen elsewhere on the menu so she knew it was available) instead of the crackers and was once again told no - absolutely no substitutions were allowed. What kind of restaurant doesn't make reasonable substitutions to meet the requests of the guest?

We started with the house-made tortilla chips, salsa and queso which were all fantastic. I got the pulled pork sandwich which was ok, but not notable. My two guests said their food was "good" but again, not notably better than anywhere else. I got the "Pot de Creme" for dessert which was good - however really just tasted like an an overpriced cup of chocolate mousse.

The section of the restaurant that we were in was LOUD. So loud we ended up having to yell over the table to each other in order to have a conversation. It was obvious this section (front porch?) was not heated as there were small space heaters everywhere and plastic covering the windows. Not really what you expect from a restaurant on the more expensive side for this area. I was kind of shocked that this is a golf club because it doesn't seem all that well taken care of. In order to go to the bathroom we had to go through the events room and down a long, completely unheated hallway that was freezing. The bathroom door of the stall I went in had NO LOCK and when I went to wash my hands, I found there was no running hot water. Ew.

All in all, not the worst experience, but really not worthy of a second visit.

ETA (after owner response): In a past life I helped restaurants develop, implement and analyze customer service and customer satisfaction evaluations and perhaps that makes me overly-sensitive to both service and surroundings. However, never did I suggest that the service was inadequate or that anyone was not working hard. As a former server, I understand how hard the job can be. What I posted was an honest review of our experience, including the things I felt went right. I did not contact anyone regarding our experience because, honestly, it didn't seem that it would be well-received with the lack of flexibility already displayed that evening. Our server actually did not offer to put in an order for a side of bread. My guest asked if that was possible and it was not. We were told absolutely nothing could be ordered that was not listed explicitly on the menu (and omitting pickles or slaw from a sandwich really doesn't count...).

The temperature in the room we were in was comfortable (I never said otherwise). My point was that the experience one would expect was not there (regardless of ownership trying to rectify things). You don't expect to go to a restaurant and have no running hot water or to have to travel a freezing hallway to get to the bathroom. Did it kill me? Of course not. Is it ideal? Definitely not. I do appreciate the refund, but did not ask for one as we all ate our food and did not bring any issues to the attention of staff.

I eat out regularly, so it definitely was unfortunate to have two less-than-ideal experiences in a week, but that's just how things ended up. My review of the Old Goat was an accurate account of my experience there and I stand by that one, too.

Sue R

Quiet evening on the deck~ pretty view and awesome attentive service. Food was above average and the wine pours were generous!

Stephen Pride

Best kept secret. Excellent food. Charming covered porch overlooking the golf course. Great meal after golfing. Mushroom tacos were delicious. Will come back for a dinner date night.

Atmosphere: 5

Food: 5

Service: 5

Bill Hamilton

Great Fish and Chips

Peter Blachly

Almost since the day you opened I have been telling my friends and vacation rental guests (lots of them) that LRKC is the best restaurant in Bath. I especially appreciate the beautiful deck overlooking the golf course, with its outdoor dining. In fact, throughout these trying times of pandemic, it has been about the ONLY place I would consider eating "out". And that's just a bonus because the food and drinks are so good! And so much credit has to go to the fantastic staff. They are wonderful.

Betsy Varian

Great food

Jennifer Gordon

Very attentive staff. The kitchen was quick to serve our large table. We were all satisfied from appetizers to dessert. I highly recommend. We miss golfing but we still love our dinners here!

Rockin OnlineDeals

Meh. Saturday was my first visit to LRK. Two friends and I had reservations for 6 PM prior to the "Twisted Christmas" show we had tickets for. One of the "specials" on the drink menu was a Harvest Moon which included an apple cider reduction, nutmeg, lemon and rum. My friend asked if she could just get a glass without the rum. She was told no. When it came time to order, one guest tried ordering the Pate and asked if she could substitute bread (seen elsewhere on the menu so she knew it was available) instead of the crackers and was once again told no - absolutely no substitutions were allowed. What kind of restaurant doesn't make reasonable substitutions to meet the requests of the guest?We started with the house-made tortilla chips, salsa and queso which were all fantastic. I got the pulled pork sandwich which was ok, but not notable. My two guests said their food was "good" but again, not notably better than anywhere else. I got the "Pot de Creme" for dessert which was good - however really just tasted like an an overpriced cup of chocolate mousse.The section of the restaurant that we were in was LOUD. So loud we ended up having to yell over the table to each other in order to have a conversation. It was obvious this section (front porch?) was not heated as there were small space heaters everywhere and plastic covering the windows. Not really what you expect from a restaurant on the more expensive side for this area. I was kind of shocked that this is a golf club because it doesn't seem all that well taken care of. In order to go to the bathroom we had to go through the events room and down a long, completely unheated hallway that was freezing. The bathroom door of the stall I went in had NO LOCK and when I went to wash my hands, I found there was no running hot water. Ew.All in all, not the worst experience, but really not worthy of a second visit.ETA (after owner response): In a past life I helped restaurants develop, implement and analyze customer service and customer satisfaction evaluations and perhaps that makes me overly-sensitive to both service and surroundings. However, never did I suggest that the service was inadequate or that anyone was not working hard. As a former server, I understand how hard the job can be. What I posted was an honest review of our experience, including the things I felt went right. I did not contact anyone regarding our experience because, honestly, it didn't seem that it would be well-received with the lack of flexibility already displayed that evening. Our server actually did not offer to put in an order for a side of bread. My guest asked if that was possible and it was not. We were told absolutely nothing could be ordered that was not listed explicitly on the menu (and omitting pickles or slaw from a sandwich really doesn't count...).The temperature in the room we were in was comfortable (I never said otherwise). My point was that the experience one would expect was not there (regardless of ownership trying to rectify things). You don't expect to go to a restaurant and have no running hot water or to have to travel a freezing hallway to get to the bathroom. Did it kill me? Of course not. Is it ideal? Definitely not. I do appreciate the refund, but did not ask for one as we all ate our food and did not bring any issues to the attention of staff.I eat out regularly, so it definitely was unfortunate to have two less-than-ideal experiences in a week, but that's just how things ended up. My review of the Old Goat was an accurate account of my experience there and I stand by that one, too.

Karen Bennett Leveille

Food and service were both excellent. We were a larger party of 8 including two children. We were seated in a space where we would bother other diners, perfect for our situation. Highly recommend.

Wendy Wincote Schweikert

Off-the-beaten track and way out of the ordinary. outstanding!

Loading...

Long Reach Kitchen & Catering

387 Whiskeag Rd, Bath, ME 04530
(207) 442-8411