Cupcake A La Mode

4639 Wornall Rd, Kansas City
(816) 960-1911

Recent Reviews

Sort by
eliana rhoads

I ordered a cake from here recently and was very disappointed. I’ve ordered cakes from here for years and have never had one this ugly and so far from the picture I sent it was unbelievable, it was supposed to say 21 years later…. Instead I got this mess. Not to mention this was the most expensive cake I’ve bought so far. I do not recommend to anyone

Atmosphere: 3

Food: 3

Service: 2

Michele Cosper

They were rude and didn’t give me the right cupcake. Took too long. Cupcakes were nothing special. Regret going here.

Atmosphere: 3

Food: 1

Service: 1

Sarah Schober

First time trying this shop, we got two cupcakes to go and carefully carried them back to our hotel room. When we opened the box the icing on one of the cupcakes had melted off and it was a giant mess. Not sure if they may have iced a slightly warm cupcake? $12 for two cupcake raises my standards and I would expect better. They did taste fresh though!

Marquell Joness

Stopped by today to get a cupcake because my mom used to bring me cupcakes from here and they were amazing! These cupcakes have taken a turn for the worst.. extremely dry cake batter with a sponge texture. Also, the lady at the front desk should work on customer service skills.

Monique Hamilton

I ordered cupcakes last weekend and they were amazing! I was very impressed! I will be back!

Kelly Cariker

I ordered gluten-free cupcakes with dairy-free topping... And they were beyond delicious!! Their regular cupcakes are also amazing!!
Also, there was a miscommunication with my order, and the sweet lady working made sure the order was prepared (even stayed a little late!) and went the extra mile to ensure my friend had cupcakes for her birthday, which is her first with dietary restrictions. Customer service was A++++

Atmosphere: 5

Food: 5

Service: 5

Whitney Leach

Tried this cupcake shop, and while it wasn’t terrible, it didn’t live up to the hype or the price point. The cupcakes looked great, but unfortunately, they didn’t taste fresh - more like they'd been made days earlier and thawed that morning. I understand that freezing is common practice in small bakeries, but when you're charging gourmet-level prices, the product should reflect that quality. Overall, it was just okay. I won’t be returning, but I can see how others might still enjoy it, even if freshness isn’t a top priority.

Wichita Wurlitzer

This place has great cupcakes but when we went there today they were out of half the cupcakes we wanted, said they were out of cream cheese icing (which is what most of their cupcakes have on them), out of red velvet, out of Oreos, and out of blueberry. I’ve had great cupcakes here before but this time it felt like they didn’t really care about the cupcake business.

Atmosphere: 3

Food: 5

Service: 2

Myisha Mcintosh

My favorite place to get cupcakes ❤️

Rei Maceo

I don’t really eat cupcakes a lot, but after I tried this one I can tell I do not like the cupcakes.

I placed an order of 2 dozens of gluten free cupcakes, since I live a far from this area I asked if the can call me when they have it read to pick up. They actually called!! I drove 25 mints with no traffic when I was picking up the delicious cupcakes were not gluten free. They offered me to remake it for the next date. I agreed to that.

I will let you judge the cupcakes

I didn’t taste anything extraordinary on the cupcakes plus the presentation is very ???

I hope the manager, owner, or anyone in charge can see this.

Christin Repas

I was so excited to find cannoli cupcakes made here, and got a four pack for a birthday dinner! Everyone loved them, they looked great, and were delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Samantha

Very cute atmosphere! But, not-so-great cupcakes. For $5.50, we expected more flavor and better quality. We both commented on how our daughter’s birthday cupcakes from the grocery store tasted better. We got the choco latte cupcake - the icing just tasted like sugar. There were no forks for eating and we had to scoop it up with a knife. We didn’t even finish it and we threw it away.

The store girl was not friendly and took a while to greet us after we rang the greeting bell twice. Someone else came in after us and rang the bell multiple times and even had to poke her head through the employee door to get someone’s attention. We wanted to like this place, but we will not be returning.

The other 1-star reviews are totally accurate despite the unprofessional owner’s responses. If we hadn’t sat down to eat the cupcake there, this lopsided icing work would have easily slipped off the cake from just walking to the car.

Audra Kilmer

First I want to say the cupcake was AMAZING! However we walked in and were not greeted, no hi, how are, what can I get you. The service received was very dry and transactional. For being locally owned I was expecting better service or at least a hello. When our cupcakes came out they were set on a table near the back room and I was just looked at. I felt as if my business was not wanted, especially to stay and eat. However we did stay to eat and 2 additional people walked in and received the exact same service. Good food, but overall could be better with just some kindness.

D A Hargens

The cupcakes were pretty good. The amount of frosting was too much for us, but some might really like that.

Li-Ann Colomba Torres

I’m not sure what’s going on with the most recent reviews of this place, but my experience has been completely different. We have been purchasing these cupcakes for several years now, and they have never been disappointing. They are beautifully decorated and taste delicious.

Loading...